SketchUp, Photography and Art Journal

The Alibata Script or Baybayin


ALIBATA or Baybayin is an ancient writing system that was used in the Philippines. This writing was used in our country until the Latin form was introduced by the Spaniards. Because of the colonization, this script was gone but somehow variants of it are still used in parts of Mindoro and Palawan. I first came to know this script upon seeing when I was in the University when I saw a bedroom filled with ornaments in alibata. That particular bedroom ” if I remember correctly designed by a reknown architect Manosa”, made a lasting impact to me as part of Filipino Identity. I am proud to say now after doing so many paintings incorporating alibata, I can now read and write with this script. Here is the complete alibata script with translation

4 responses

  1. I would be interested to see your artwork with the script. Maybe I can feature it on my site

    April 14, 2011 at 4:08 pm

  2. melmon palomas

    why is it that there’s no letter R in the old script?

    July 3, 2011 at 9:27 am

Leave a Reply

